Oatmeal Milk Stout

July fourth and no fireworks? Welcome to Japan. It wasn’t a bad day, though, because I was able to do a little bit of home brewing. Now, I brewed a few months back with my buddy Derek but it turned out pretty horrid since Northern Brewer sent us half the LME we ordered, which we didn’t find out until we were about to add it to the boil. Here’s a tip: check your ingredients BEFORE you brew. You’ll only get golden tips from this blog, I swear.
I’d been craving a Milk Stout for a while so it was my logical choice to brew. I wanted something smooth, easy to drink with mid range alcohol and noticeable milk notes. I really enjoy milk stouts because the roasted/coffee malts are beautifully cut down by the milk. I decided to join my milk stout with another of my favorites; oatmeal stouts. Awesome.
The brew could have gone better. I don’t know how I ended up with multiple 5 gallon carboys and only a plastic brewing bucket big enough for primary fermentation. I also brewed on the hottest day of the year which made cooling to wort to a pitch-able temperature a futile venture. What seemed like a week after removing the completed wort from the heat I finally pitched the yeast, even though I was a good 4 or 5 degrees celsius over the proper pitching temperature. I may have killed the yeast doing this. 24 hours later and not a damn thing happening I decided to pitch a pack of Safale S-04 that I picked up at Tokyu Hands for just such an occasion. The fermentation began very quickly afterwards. I’m mildly worried about the original yeast adding an off flavor, but I think it’ll be alright.

Ingredients:
Malts
8 oz UK Chocolate Malts
8 oz US Flaked Oats
8 oz UK Torrified Wheat
6 oz Medium Crystal Malts
4 oz UK Roasted Barley
5.5 lbs. Extra Light DME

Hops
1.5 oz UK Fuggle
.25 oz East Kent Golding

Other Ingredients
4 oz Brown Sugar
12 oz Lactose
1 tsp. Irish Moss

Yeast
Wyeast 1028 – London Ale (This yeast died but is the preferred yeast in future versions)
Fermentis Safale S-04

Recipe:
-Preheat oven to 300F (162.7C). Toast oats for 60 minutes, turning every 15 minutes.
-Heat one gallon of water to 160F, add: chocolate malt, oats, torrified wheat, crystal malt, and roasted barley.
-Remove from heat and steep grains at 150F for 30 minutes.
-Strain grain water into brew pot. Sparge grains with one gallon of 150F water. Bring water to boil, then remove from heat.
-Add extra light DME, brown sugar, lactose, fuggles
-Add water until there are 2.5 gallons in the brew pot.
-Boil for 45 minutes, then add irish moss and east kent goldings.
-Boil for 15 more minutes.
Remove from heat and let cool for 20 minutes. Add cold water until volume reaches 5 1/8 gallons.
-Pitch yeast when wort equals 70F. Aereate.
-Ferment at 68-72F for 7 days or until fermentation slows. Siphon to secondary, bottle approximately three weeks later. Prime for four weeks until carbonated.

The wort was very sweet but had a rather pleasant flavor. OG: 1.059

I should be racking to the secondary this Sunday, bottling/kegging near the end of July, and drinking the beginning of September. I can’t wait.

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Milk Stout

  1. Steve Lacey

    Hi, we may or may not already know each other as I can’t find your name on your blog, but please drop me an email. I am part of a network of about 15 foreign homebrewers in Japan (mainly Kanto) and if we are not already connected, then it may be in your interests to get acquainted (bulk buys of ingredients, a closed discussion forum in which everybody knows each other in person, frequent opportunities to get together and share beers or beer talk).
    Regards,
    Steve

  2. whitey7183

    Hi Steve,
    Sorry for taking so long to get back to you, but I think we have exchanged a couple emails. I’ll send you an email in addition to this, but I won’t be back in Japan until late this year. Hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

