Breakfast Beer

I never eat breakfast.  Sure, it’s supposedly the most important meal of the day, but I have to be at work pretty early in the morning and the 15 minutes it would take to sit down with a bowl of cereal is 15 minutes less of sleep I can get in.  Weekends are a bust because I’m usually up too late drinking and discussing life (beer) with some friends in the pub somewhere.  The problem is that I love breakfast.  Whether it’s cold cereal or bacon and eggs- I just can’t get enough.

english-breakfast-002
A fine way to end (or begin) your day

I decided to have breakfast the other day.  A full breakfast, or at least everything I can find to complete that in Japan.  Eggs, sausage, hash brows (full of veggies and spices, of course), and toast with jam.  But what ever was I to wash it down with?  Thankfully, I was making my breakfast at about five in the afternoon, so beer was the obvious choice.  Even more thankfully I had a bottle of Fuller’s London Porter patiently waiting its turn in my refrigerator.  After preparing the food I tilted the bottle and poured myself a nice glass of one of my all-time favorite beers.  The eggs were dry (not a fan of runny eggs), the sausage was spiced, the hash browns were full of vegetables, cheese, and peppers, the toast was smothered in strawberry jam, and the porter was dark and delicious.  Is there a better way to accompany the day’s finest meal?  You’d be hard-pressed to convince me otherwise.

Leave a Reply

