What is it about BrewDog?

I read a fair amount of beer blogs. It’s because I’m a beer nerd, you see. How else can I learn the art of beer blogging if I don’t do my research and find out what works and what doesn’t? Anyhow, over the course of the previous few months beer blogs everywhere have been nostril deep in posts about BrewDog, the Scottish Brewery that wants you to know how edgy they are.

Before I go any farther let me just say that I have only had four of their offerings and all have been pretty good. I was less than impressed with The Physics, but thoroughly enjoyed my bottle of Paradox Batch 002. Delicious.

My question, though, is why in the world is everyone in awe of them? Is it their name? Is it their drawn out battle with the Portman Group? Is it their marketing strategy? Is it their location? Or, is it truly because they are the best brewery going on right now?  Maybe it’s that I’m uneducated in the awesomeness of BrewDog.  I don’t mean to come off as anti-BrewDog, quite the contrary.  I just want to know what the big deal is.  

A quick glance at RateBeer shows that 17 (beers with 10 or more rates) of their 42 total listings are in the 90th percentile, thats right around 40% of their beers!    Pretty impressive for a brewery that started way back in April 2007.  

Whatever they’re doing they’re doing it right.  Keep up the good work BrewDog, I guess I’m the odd man out after-all.

Tanakaya carries around 10 of their brews (most are versions of the Paradox) so I’ll be picking up a bottle or two next time I’m up there, you know, for research purposes.

On the web: BrewDog

4 thoughts on “What is it about BrewDog?

  1. I guess we are partly to blame…as we the bloggers continue to give them publicity. Any pub is good pub. They must be doing something right to get the hop heads talking, think that they will last?

  2. whitey7183

    I hope they last- good beer is good beer. With all the free publicity beer bloggers (myself included) keep giving them I’d be surprised if they went under.

  3. purlygrrrl

    I think part of it is that the brewery is small enough that bloggers can feel they are discovering or revealing something new. That will probably change as the brewery grows.

    I also thing the guys at Brew Dog understand that narrative sells craft beers. And most beer bloggers are writing because the like to tell stories about beer– there’s a correspondence.

    I’m a huge fan. I hope they continue to thrive.

Leave a Reply

