Finally catching up with the new year

I hope everyone’s 2010 is off to a great start.  Mine couldn’t have begun any better: Waking up in Maui with my girlfriend- and then having her ask if we can go to Maui Brewpub for our first meal of the year.  It seems like this might just be a good year.

There has been some noticeable change in the beer world since I last posted.  Two of my favorite reads have gone dark.  Hopjuice.com and Jeff’s Beer Blog (formerly Stonch’s Beer Blog) decided to call it quits.  I enjoyed both blogs and their commentary will be missed- I just hope someone steps up and takes their place properly.  I know I’m not up to the task so I’ll leave that to others.  In keeping with the ending of things let me also mention that Drie Fonteinen has stopped brewing- but they are still blending.  I’m curious to find out exactly what that will mean for those of us who enjoyed their brews but it looks like we’ll still be able to get some masterfully blended lambics.

While I didn’t make any beer related resolutions this year (or any resolutions at all for that matter) I do have a few things in mind that I’d like to do.  First- post more.  With my sea time at it’s close I should have more time to post.  I also hope to include more photos and much more homebrewing related articles.  The biggest change will undoubtedly be my upcoming move.  Yes, the rumors are true (Are there rumors?  Am I that important?  No, I’m not)- I will be moving to Philadelphia near the middle of 2010.  A short two moth layover in the Capital area of America will precede my arrival to Phily, but I’ll get there.  That means fewer Japan related posts but since I still have some fingers in the world out here I’ll try to update with at least some interesting news every now and then.  Philadelphia will become my local, though.  Japan has treated me very well over the past three years and I’m sorry to leave her behind.  But, it’s time to move on to new adventures.  I don’t know what I’ll do without Thrash Zone, though.

I should have some new posts coming up so don’t give up on me just yet.

3 thoughts on “Finally catching up with the new year

Leave a Reply

