Beginnings that are New

Once again, I find myself in a new location, a place I’ve never been before, and a thirst that has yet to be slaked. My lovely bride and I have found our way to Bahrain- land of sun, sand, and quite a large amount of genuinely friendly folk. We haven’t been in country all that long but are enjoying the bit we’ve explored so far.

But you don’t care about all that. You just want beer. Well, I do too. Luckily for the both of us, Bahrain allows that malty delight to be served. Unlucky for the both of us, it is usually Carlsberg, Heineken, or Budweiser. Although I did have an Amstel Light with dinner the other night.

So, why would I blow the dust off this blog in a country with no good beer? For the search.

My cellar. Your envy is showing.
My cellar. Your envy is showing.

As I may have mentioned in a previous post (a long time ago), the search for good beer is almost as fun and exciting as the beer itself. In Japan, the hunt for a hoppy IPA led me to many places that other Sailors never could have imagined. In Philadelphia, the hunt brought my wife and I to the neighborhood we would call home and introduced us to new friends we had yet to meet (same could be said for Japan). The hunt for beer isn’t just a hunt for a drink- no, it’s an adventure with an unknown treasure at the end. If I find good beer or not, I’ll have most likely found something I never would have seen if I didn’t venture out.

Having said all that, as I sit here drinking a Sierra Nevada Ruthless Rye, I can’t shake the feeling that i’ve already found the good beer mecca of Bahrain. The Navy base here does a bang up job (relatively speaking, of course) of stocking good beer at its exchange. SN Ruthless and Celebration have already coursed through my veins. I have a case of Dogfish Head 60 Minute waiting its turn and am contemplating picking up a case of the 90 Minute, too. Not a bad selection. Not great, but not bad. I found a cider I’d never had before (Somersby- it was…Ok.) at a local restaurant, so the possibility exists that I will find something new and fun.

Let the hunt begin.

Leave a Reply

