Motivation.

I haven’t blogged in quite some time. I have reasons, sure. Time, energy, access to the internet, etc. They’re all…good, as in, they are all real. But honestly, lack of motivation is the driving factor in the layoff. While stationed in Japan, I had plenty of things to talk about that were new and interesting. However, Philadelphia is flooded with beer and people who know far more than I and Bahrain had nearly no beer and no reason to discuss it. I now find myself on the Kitsap peninsula. It may be the most frustrating place I’ve lived. Kitsap is surrounded by large cities and small towns overflowing with great beer and great breweries. Hell, even this peninsula has some outstanding breweries…but where are the great beer pubs and stores pushing the local suds? This tiny blog will have no discernible affect on the availability of beers, but I do plan on at least talking about them a little more. Hopefully, the motivation lasts.

In that effort, my lovely Craft Beer Wife (the most understanding of all the wives) challenged me. You see, I am the nerd who enters his thoughts on the ol’ Ratebeer.com website. I’ve amassed a decent number over the years and am close to certain milestones in the stats department. I agree, my stats that don’t mean a damn thing. Hell, none of it means a damn thing, but it is fun to do, so I do it.

When I stepped on the pier after seven months of being at sea and on deployment, my wife challenged me to rate 100 new beers by the end of the year. With all the brews she snagged for me while I was gone and after downing a few flights at breweries, we both realized that was a walk in the park, regardless of how depleted my tolerance had become. So I asked for a new challenge.

She decided that I needed to get to 100 overall rates of each of the following:

Challenge
Only 28 beers. Easy day.

 

At first glance, it doesn’t seem too difficult. It’s only 28 beers, dude. But, Belgian strong ales could be the sticking point. Impy stouts and IPAs? I’ve already got those in my queue, but the BSAs, and ones I haven’t had yet, might prove trickier than I’m thinking. The only way to find out it to start drinking.

Let’s get to it.

One thought on “Motivation.

  1. Pingback: Made It – Tuesday Pints

Leave a Reply

