Made It

I made a post in September titled Motivation. in which I challenged myself to reach a goal of 100 on a few different styles. It wasn’t all that many beers, really. It was only 28 beers and I had more than three months to drink them. Well, that is the logic that got the Mrs to add cider to the 100 count goal, bumping it up a few bottles. Still, it shouldn’t be too hard. I’ll just split some ciders with her while I drink the Imperials and Belgian strong, right? Well, yea, right, but I was also underway for more than a month of that three month marathon and I didn’t take the challenge too seriously at first, meaning its difficulty built up over the weeks.

I won’t hold you in suspense- I made it. I made it at about 10:30 p.m., Dec 31st after charging through an absolutely idiotic amount of high abv Belgian strong and ciders in the last three days of the year.

img_0219
In hindsight, it was a dumb thing to do. It wasn’t so much dumb because of the abv of many of the beers (though if you talked to me on NYE you’d probably disagree with that), just that being forced into so many of a specific style really made the whole hobby of craft beer a chore. I’ve never had that before and I hope to never again. It made me bored of drinking and dreading the thought of it. You could say that’s stupid, just don’t drink in that case. Well, we have this thing in our family that if we set a goal we meet it. Generally, that is a good thing but here it taught me that I am not a smart man.

What matters is that it’s over. What also matters is I drank some really fantastic beers I would have normally overlooked. Struise Pannepot Reserva was an amazing experience. Sound Mayan Cave Bear was tops and I would have normally passed as I’m not a chili beer kind of guy. Crux Half Hitch was killer. I’m glad I snagged a bottle of Dupont / Lost Abbey Deux Amis saison because that was another insane output from both of those righteous breweries. And I’ve got to mention  d’s Wicked Baked Apple cider. It’s a spiced cider trying for a bit of the novelty factor of cider but it hits the head of the nail square and true. 

I’m excited to get back to drinking what I’m in the mood for when that mood strikes. 

Prost!

Leave a Reply

