Madness : Day 1

I took some time off work for arguably the best four days in sports: March Madness’ opening weekend. Four straight days of college basketball glory.

To properly celebrate I’m making way too much food and enjoy a beer or seven (and maybe some cocktails, too). I’ll be updating this post as we move along through the day.

7:00 a.m. : The Mrs. is a Winthrop alumna so that’s where our rooting is directed today. To get in the mood I put a couple pounds of raw peanuts in a stock put and brought them to boil. I’m not generally a fan of boiled peanuts but sometimes you need to take one for the team. First drink of the day was a few mugs of coffee with baileys to top it off. Gotta ease my way into the tournament.

img_5507
Softening up these raw peanuts.
11:00 a.m. : pork butt goes in the smoker and finishing up the last of my boozed up coffee. Four games going simultaneously. 
Layers of games.
12:30 p.m. : First beer of the day is Ten Pin Brewing Head Pin IPA. Well-balanced. The bitterness accompanied Winthrop’s loss to Butler quite well. 
It’s sunny in Washington in March?
2:00 p.m. : Cracked open an aged-at-the-brewery Silver City Beautimus Weizenbock from circa 2010 … or so the bartender said. 
Lost most of the carbonation. Still tasty.
4:00 p.m. : I needed something lighter as the early games ended and the late ones waited to start. Disappointed with the lack of upsets (other than MTSU) so far. 
Mexican Vienna.
5:15 p.m. : The short break in games was harder than expected. Staying focused was hard. That Vienna Lager is to blame since it was a Modelo offering. Decided I needed to go small again and brought out Postdoc Kilty Macsporran Scottish Ale. Had to be drank today so I didn’t accidentally open it tomorrow, St. Patrick’s day. 
Getting focused.
6:30 p.m. : Dinner. Smoked a pork butt for the better part of the day. Delicious pulled pork is delicious. 
Smoke House.
7:50 p.m. : I needed to wash that tasty pork down with something so I grabbed a Ninkasi Believer. The name is more than appropriate for the games going I right now. I just wish the beer was sharper. 
An underdog coming up a couple points shy.

9:15 p.m. : It’s been a long day of basketball, cooking and boozing. Arizona is up by 21 on North Dakota with a little less than six to play and I’m pretty exhausted. My bracket isn’t busted but I have some tough outs already. Finishing up day one with a Fremont Dark Heron IPA. A fairly relaxed IPA especially coming from Fremont. Easy going but it’s simplicity leads to relaxed enjoyment.

Simple IPA to end the day.

Leave a Reply

