Browsing Botanicals : Osuzu Kumquat Gin

I was browsing a sake and shochu shop in Yokohama a while back when I came across this gin from Osuzuyama that uses their shochu as the base spirit. Having never had a shochu base gin, I instantly added this to my basket before even realizing that it was a kumquat infused version. I don’t think that would have swayed my decision, but having never really had a kumquat, I was a little confused on what to expect. I still am. But it’s high time for a highball, so lets get to it.

Osuzu Kumquat Gin

  • Distillery: Osuzuyama Distillery (Japan)
  • 45% abv / 90 proof
  • Style: Fruit Flavored Gin
  • Botanicals: Juniper, Ginger, Sansho Pepper, Kumquat

Neat

Kumquat is fun to say

Clear in the glass with sticky lacing. The kumquat really jumps out of the glass and pretty much overpowers everything else. I don’t get much juniper and while I was looking forward to the ginger, that seems covered up as well. A bit fiery on the tongue. The kumquat comes in very much like a sweet orange in this gin and again, it’s the main if not only player on the scene. I get some noticeable green vegetable notes along with light hear from the ginger. I don’t know that this is all that well balanced leaning hard on the kumquat and leaving the rest fighting over the table scrapes. It also leaves me scratching my head on just where and how this will work in a cocktail.

Gin & Tonic

Bright Sunshiny Day.

Plenty of earthy and vegetable notes along with some citrus. A bit of spicy heat, sweet sour notes. It is very citrus forward but with a hefty amount of pepper “flavor” as well. Like a green or young pepper in flavor. A bit simple mostly because the gin is simple but it’s not bad if you like citrus gins- though for me the kumquat is sorta odd here. Definitely a noticeable alcohol smack. Not really a gin I’d reach for again for a G&T as it doesn’t give the refreshing profile I crave when drinking one. But it is interesting.

Negroni
Source: Memory

Afternoon Apertif
  • 1 oz Osuzo Kumquat Gin
  • 1 oz Campari
  • 1 oz Carpano Antica Vermouth

Stir all with ice. Strain over fresh ice.

I’m not generally a fan of Negronis but I am drinking more of them in an attempt to change that opinion. Whether or not that will work is anyone’s guess at this point. But for the Osuzo gin, it seemed like the best option to give this gin a real win. The Campari and vermouth bring powerful enough flavors to help the gin along. The kumquat could really work here since an orange slice is the usual garnish.

After a good stir to chill it down that first bitter sip really hits- but it hits right on point. The aspects of the gin that I really don’t love are now smoothed over by the Campari and vermouth. The kumquat adds that nice citrus and orange profile without being too much or at odds like it is in the G&T. For a Negroni, which I still don’t love, this really works.

The Last Sip

I often get sucked into these “interesting” Japanese gins and then am let down when it comes to actual use. The Osuzu is no exception. I liked that it was based of Shochu, I liked that it was local botanicals but I didn’t like how it actually tasted. While it works fine in a drink that basically masks the gin it really isn’t worth your yen.

Leave a comment