Rum’sploration : Don Q Reserva

We made a bee-line for the closest, bestest liquor shop I could find within minutes of landing in sunny Puerto Rico. I was still in long pants and a freaking sweater when I snagged this (and many other PR rums) and put it into my cart. I was well overheated but it didn’t matter. My cart was full of beautiful Puerto Rican rums. Some aged, some unaged, some well known, some local recommendations. All new to me and exciting.

There were other rums in my cart that were more … intriguing, but there were no others that I was more excited to finally get in my glass than the Don Q 7. I’ve read many things through the years about how versatile and tasty this bottle is but it isn’t in Japan and if I was somehow able to get it- it wouldn’t have been the value this bottle is supposed to bring the drinker. And value is important for a rum like this. It’s not the highest of high end nor is it some crazy aged variation. It’s a straight-forward, well made rum of excellent quality and at a reasonable price. I wanted to experience that in its entirety.

And yes, this is another port written while traveling so don’t expect any fancy AF tiki cocktail. I’m writing this on my balcony overlooking the Caribbean Sea with rum in my glass and a sea breeze in the air. There isn’t a better place in the world to be drinking rum.

Don Q Reserva 7

  • Distillery: Destilería Serrallés (Puerto Rico)
  • ABV: 40% / 80 proof
  • Age: A blend of rums no younger than seven years old
  • Martin Cate Classification: Column Still Aged (4)
  • Dosed: No.

Neat

Proper.

Light copper pour with nice lacing. Toasted oak, light caramel, baking spice in the aroma. Medium bodied. The bright toasted oak, baking spices, light caramel notes are there along with a grilled banana bit. Very tasty pour. This is one of those rums that works in a dive bar and classy joint equally as well- it just depends on how you dress it. If I could get this regularly I would almost always have this around for afternoon sipping.

Daiquiri

Closest glass to a coupe this place has.

Pours a slightly deeper neon green but still bright. Dang, this cocktail slaps. A hint of depth from the aged rum gives it a somewhat bolder profile but it retains that necessary bright refreshing profile. SO basically a beautifully tart drink with more character … I’m sold on it. The Reserva works wonders here.

Cuba Libre

Tall and cold.

I must have enjoyed more Cuba libres and mojitos in the week or so we were in Puerto Rico than any other timeframe in my life. The DQ7 does great in both. In a Cuba libre, it adds a bit of sweetness and depth that a white rum isn’t going to give ya. It also doesn’t overtake the drink and lets it remain the relaxed sipper this drink aims to be.

The Last Sip

Without a doubt in my mind this is the only fair spot for this rum. It sips perfectly, it mixes excellently and it doesn’t break the bank.

It’s a fantastic rum.

Leave a comment