Browsing Botanicals : Kyoto Ki No Tea

We’re heading back to the luxurious well today but sipping on some more Kyoto gin, this time infused with green tea. Kyoto’s gins, to me at least, come off as the upper echelon of elegance in gin. Maybe not the most unique nor complex, but well crafted and … elegant. I’m a little weary of the green tea- while I’m generally a fan of green tea, it’s addition as a main botanical in a gin is something I can see going south in an instant. My fears are most likely invalid, as like I said before, Kyoto makes some mighty fine gins.

Kyoto Ki No Tea Kyoto Dry Gin

  • Distillery: Kyoto Distillery (Japan)
  • ABV: 45.1% / 90.2 proof
  • Botanicals: Juniper, Orris, Akamatsu, Yuzu, Lemon, Green Tea (Gyokuro, Tencha)

Neat

Dusk Gin

Clear pour with lovely legs on the glass. Citrus, creamy sweetness, juniper, floral in the aroma. It’s simple yet very inviting. Medium to full body. A lovely sweet citrus up front followed by light juniper and green tea notes. The finish has a sharp alcohol slice that transitions to a gentle sweetness with lemon notes. Like most of my experiences with Kyoto’s gin, the profile is delicate and elegant and skews sweet. The Ki No Tea is no exception … and is very enjoyable.

Gin & Tonic

GT!

There isn’t much to say here except that the gin works in the drink and makes for a slightly sweet, refreshing drink. The finer notes of the gin get washed away but otherwise it’s enjoyable. Maybe not the ideal drink for this gin but it works none-the-less.

Bramble
Source: New York Times Essential book of Cocktails

Frozen Berries for a Fresh Bramble
  • 2 oz Gin
  • 1 oz Lemon Juice
  • 0.5 oz Simple Syrup
  • 0.5 oz Creme de Mure (I used creme de myrtille)

Shake gin, lemon and simple syrup with ice. Strain into a rocks glass filled with crushed ice. Drizzle creme de mure over top.

What’s isn’t to love about a bramble? It’s citrusy, gin-filled and stuffed with sweet berries. The Ki No Tea works masterfully here, keeping the drink sweet and elegant. Again, the delicate notes of the gin get a little lost, but the sweet citrus profile really works with the … sweet citrus profile of the drink.

The Last Sip

I really like Ki No Tea. I wasn’t sure going in that was going to be the case, but thankfully the green tea was present but reserved. I actually really I like this gin but the one thing holding it back is … why? With such a restrained tea profile, what is this gin really brining to the bar that others … even other Kyoto offerings, don’t? I like this gin because it is elegant and nuanced. But it’s biggest attraction for me also is its biggest detractor.

At the end of the glass, it’s a delicious gin to sip or mix. But I just don’t really see myself picking it up again because this gin more or less exists in other products for a few less yen.

Leave a comment