Browsing Botanicals : Bols Genever

I’m not sure this fits in the “Browsing Botanicals” category of posts and yet here we are. I’ll be honest, I don’t see myself going though enough genever to come up with its own theme. That’s attributed to the fact that there aren’t that many out there. At least not in the places I’ve lived and currently reside … and drink. If that changes I’ll be sure to let you know.

Genever has long been on my radar as an intriguing prospect but without any real sense of direction. The idea that I’ve read repeatedly that genever is the precursor to gin, but is closer to a herb’d up whiskey because of it’s grain profile has always captured my interest. But I’ve never known what you are supposed to do with it. So today, here on this very blog, my journey down genever lane takes its first baby steps.

I’m excited. I hope you are, too.

Bols Original Genever

  • Distillery: Bols (Netherlands)
  • 42% abv / 84 proof
  • Style: Aged Genever
  • Botanicals: Juniper, Coriander, Orange, Ginger, Hops and many not listed
  • Base Spirit: Wheat, Rye, Corn

Neat

OG(enever)

Clear pour with thick lacing. I pick up quite a bit of juniper and deep orange notes over top noticeable wheat and a bit of spicy rye in the aroma. Full bodied. On initial sip I really understand what folks mean by a whiskey with botanicals. It really comes fast and strong with young whiskey notes before opening into a spicy, ginger, juniper profile. The whiskey notes, to me, are in the fresh dough category that I get with some whiskies. But this is definitely not a whiskey … nor is it a gin. It’s must softer in overall profile than a gin is to me. I might just finish the rest of this pour over a little crushed ice- sounds delicious.

John Collins

Jonny Boy

To me, the Tom Collins is the perfect summer drink. But it sprang from the genever based John Collins, which pre-dated the Tom Collins before gin became the darling spirit. There is maybe no other drink more quintessential for genever then, than the John Collins.

This drink is obviously very similar to the Tom Collins we all know and love, and yet it is also light years different than the TC>. The bolder liquor and whiskey notes really cut through and create a deeper, sweeter drink than the Tom Collins. The lemon plays well to tone down some of those overpowering genever notes but I believe the genever still wins this wrestling match. Citrus and bright at first followed by juniper, malt and some spice notes. While the Tom Collins is made for afternoons in the summer sun, the John Collins works best in the Spring or Autumn when there is a gentle chill in the air.

Dutchie
Source: Cuban Cocktails. 100 Classic and Modern Drinks

‘pon the left hand side.
  • 0.75 oz Bols Genever
  • 0.75 oz Smith & Cross Rum
  • 0.75 oz Yellow Chartreuse
  • 0.75 oz Lime Juice
  • 1 barspoon Cane Syrup
  • 0.5 oz Club Soda
  • Peychaud’s Bitters

Swizzle all except club soda and bitters with crushed ice in a glass. Top with soda and bitters to taste.

This recipe is the only reason I’m even doing this post at all. I’ve had this bottle of Bols for a couple years now but not really done much with it. I bought this book before I went to sea purely to torture myself with all the drinks I wasn’t going to be able to make when I saw this recipe in its digital pages. Knowing I had this exact bottle of Genever at home AND it had one of my favorite rums as well- well, I was sold.

This drink isn’t really what I imagined right off the bat, which set me back for a sip or two but after that I really fell for it. The chartreuse is a pretty big player here with the Genever coming in shortly after. The rum plays a bit part (though I did not use the S7S like it calls for). It’s a very refreshing drink with nice herbal notes and creates a flavor profile unlike many other “similar” swizzles I’ve had. By the end of it, I’m sold and want a second.

The Last Sip

This was my first Genever experience but based off this bottle it won’t be my last. I think the most important thing to remember is Genever is its own spirit- it’s neither gin nor whiskey. I wouldn’t make a G&T out of this nor would I think this is a proper old fashioned replacement (though it would probably make a good variation). I’m still figuring out the style and where it works- but it’s damn’d fun and I believe this is a good intro to the category. Give it a shot.

Leave a comment