Rum’sploration : Pusser’s Deptford Dockyard Reserve

This was a random pickup that just so happened to look good at a good price at the right time. I enjoy Pusser’s even though they get a good amount of hate in the rum world. I won’t dive deeper into that here, you can do your own research. But I’m often intrigued by their rums and this one just struck a cord.

Was this impulse buy a good idea or should I have left it in the bin?

Pusser’s Deptford Dockyard Reserve

  • Distillery: Not disclosed. Rum from Jamaica, Guyana (Diamond), Barbados, and Trinidad are blended together here.
  • 54.5 % abv / 109 proof
  • Aged: NAS
  • Martin Cate Classification:
  • Dosed: Unknown.

Neat

Rainy nation rum on a rainy day

Deep caramel brown in the glass with thick lacing. Aroma comes in deep and full of sweet molasses, raisin, toasted oak, milk chocolate, toffee, Iranian dates, overripe banana, some funk. Such a treat to the nostrils. Full bodied. The 109 proof is apparent without being overly hot. The palate comes in with sweet, oak back molasses, brown butter, overripe banana, baking spice, nutmeg, black pepper. The finish is very warm and quite long with good spice and molasses though not too sweet. I’ve enjoyed all the Pusser’s expressions I’ve come across and this is no exception. It’s bold and flavorful without being overly sweet. The balance between the Demerara and Jamaican rums is spot on. Lovely pour for a cold and rainy winter day.

Daiquiri

Classic

The dark rum creates a deep peach-hued daiquiri- it’s quite pretty. It’s not as bright and slicing in color as I enjoy but it’s a nice change of pace. The Jamaican notes are very prevalent in the aroma with nice nutmeg spice under that funk. The lime is toned way down yet still noticeable. In the flavor, it’s the Demerara that muscles to the front, leaving the Jamaican rum a little behind. The deeper molasses, brown butter, banana, and baking spice come out before fading in the finish, which is sweet and deep. The Deptford really makes a nice daiquiri for a cool and rainy Spring afternoon- not so much for the summer beach.

Reconstructed Surfer on Acid
Source: Dan Snyder

I neither surf nor do acid. But I do like to drink.
  • 1 oz Jagermeister
  • 1 oz Pineapple Rum (Pusser’s Deptford Dockyard)
  • 1 oz Pineapple Juice
  • 0.5 oz Orgeat
  • 0.5 oz Lime Juice

Shake all with crushed ice. Dirty dump into glass. Add more ice as necessary.

I know this is supposed to be made with pineapple rum but I figured it was time to find out how it did with a more … rum, rum. The pineapple is a bit more reserved than in the actual version, which brings the Jagermeister out a bit more. That’s not a bad thing if you enjoy Jager or if, like me, you are in the beginning stages of Amaro exploration. The Dockyard gives a nice depth and strength with a little funky fun twist. It’s a very tasty drink even without the pineapple rum and a fun sidestep from the classic tiki drinks of old. Would happily make this version again.

The Last Sip

I really enjoyed my time with the Deptford Dockyard Reserve and am happy I picked it up. It could have easily been in a higher category but when comparing it to other Pusser’s I’ve had I don’t think this is the best- I prefer the Gunpowder Proof. Having said that, it’s a nice option and change of pace that sips well and makes tasty cocktails.

Leave a comment